Drawpie Explainers

Where to Buy PS VR2: Sony's US Store Can't Sell You One, and Its UK Store Can

Where to Buy PS VR2: Sony's US Store Can't Sell You One, and Its UK Store Can
Photo by James Yarema on Unsplash
Key takeaways
  • 🔴 As of Tuesday 22 September 2026 there is no new PS VR2 you can actually buy from a mainstream US retailer. PlayStation Direct US lists it at $399.00 and marks it Currently Unavailable, with no restock date and not even a notify-me option.
  • 🔑 GameStop’s $299.99 listing marked Condition: New is not purchasable. Its own store-inventory endpoint returned zero units across roughly 600 stores in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston, Miami and Seattle, and Ship to Home reads Not Available. The only PS VR2 that adds to cart at GameStop is a Certified Refurbished unit at $359.99.
  • In the UK the answer is simply Sony. PlayStation Direct UK had both the standard headset and the Horizon Call of the Mountain bundle at £399.99 with working Add to Cart buttons on 22 September 2026. Same headset, matched recommended prices, opposite outcomes.
  • Sony has not discontinued PS VR2 and has not explained the US gap. playstation.com still carries an Available now label and a Buy now button — the button leads to a product the store cannot sell. Two outlets asked Sony about the shortage and got no comment.
  • The PS VR2 PC Adapter is in stock nearly everywhere the headset is not, but it only opens SteamVR. Sony’s own list of what stops working on PC covers HDR, eye tracking, headset feedback, adaptive triggers and haptics other than rumble.
  • This page carries no forecast of where the price or the stock goes next, and no resale or marketplace prices. Every figure below is a retailer’s own listed price, read on 22 September 2026.

On Tuesday 22 September 2026, Sony’s own US store cannot sell you a PlayStation VR2. PlayStation Direct lists it at $399.00 and marks it Currently Unavailable, the US Horizon bundle page returns a 404, and GameStop’s $299.99 listing marked Condition: New has no units in any store we could query. In the United Kingdom, the same headset, at a matched recommended price, adds to cart on Sony’s own store.

Can you still buy a PS VR2 in the US?

Not a new one from a mainstream US retailer, as of 22 September 2026. PlayStation Direct shows Currently Unavailable, Target and Walmart show out of stock, Best Buy no longer carries a first-party new headset at all, and GameStop’s new-condition bundle cannot be shipped or collected anywhere that was checked. Of everything we could check, the one PS VR2 that genuinely adds to cart is a refurbished unit at GameStop for $359.99.

StorePriceStatus
PlayStation Direct$399.00Currently Unavailable. No cart, no restock date, no notify option
TargetCore and bundle both out of stock; pickup and shipping Not available, “Notify me” only
Walmart$399.99Out of stock, was $519.99. Only pre-owned and marketplace listings are purchasable
Best BuyNo first-party new headset. Bundle and refurb listings are Marketplace sellers
GameStop, new bundle$299.99Listed as new, but zero units in six metros and Ship to Home Not Available
GameStop, refurbished$359.99Certified Refurbished. Add to Cart works, ships in 2–3 business days

Best Buy’s remaining listings are Marketplace sellers asking well above Sony’s recommended price. Those are reseller numbers, not retail, and this page does not print them.

What does Sony’s own US store actually say?

PlayStation Direct US lists PlayStation VR2 at $399.00 with the status Currently Unavailable — no Add to Cart button, no restock date, no notify-me option. The listing is otherwise fully alive, still showing Release Date: Feb 22, 2023 and the full box contents: headset, two Sense controllers, charging cable, stereo headphones and a manual.

The route Sony sends you down leads there and stops. On playstation.com/en-us/ps-vr2 the headset is still labelled Available now with a Buy now button, and every one of those buttons points at direct.playstation.com. The page names retailers only for the PC adapter, available from select retailers since 7 August 2024. For the headset, Sony’s official US path dead-ends at a product its own store cannot sell.

The US store now carries exactly two PS VR2 items: the headset, and the Sense Controller Charging Station at $49.99, which is in stock. The Horizon bundle still has an Explore tile on the US landing page, and that tile is a live link to a URL returning Error 404 — a broken link on Sony’s own storefront. Sony’s two prices also disagree without either being a typo: the February 2025 announcement gives $399.99, the store displays $399.00.

Is the PS VR2 discontinued?

No. Sony has made no discontinuation announcement, and on 22 September 2026 playstation.com still carried an Available now label and a working Buy now button. What has changed is not the product’s status but the store’s ability to fulfil it.

Sony has given no explanation either. PC Guide reported the disappearance on 16 September 2026 and VR.org on 18 September 2026; both say they got no comment, and nothing on PlayStation.Blog addresses stock. The nearest thing to a production fact is a single Bloomberg report of 18 March 2024 saying Sony had paused manufacturing after building “well over 2 million units”. Sony never confirmed it, and nothing since has said production resumed.

The software news cuts both ways. Firewall Ultra, one of only two PS VR2 titles Sony itself published, went permanently offline at 10:00 PDT on 17 September 2026 — announced by editing a blog post from 22 August 2023 rather than by publishing a new one. Polyarc, the studio behind Moss, shut down on 11 September 2026. Against that, Sony pushed back on wind-down talk in June 2025 with new games, and GameStop lists a physical PS5 and VR2 edition of The Midnight Walk for 19 October 2026.

Is GameStop’s $299.99 “new” PS VR2 bundle real?

The listing is real, but you cannot buy it. The $299.99 item marked Condition: New is the Horizon Call of the Mountain bundle, sku 393119. Ship to Home reads Not Available, the Pick Up Today button is disabled, and GameStop’s own store-inventory endpoint returned zero units in every store across New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston, Miami and Seattle — roughly 600 store records at radii up to 500 miles.

That page’s structured data claims InStock. It is boilerplate, contradicted by the rendered page and by GameStop’s own API. The endpoint is trustworthy: queried the same way for the Charging Station, it returned 111 units across 80 of 95 New York stores and 64 across 48 of 55 Los Angeles stores.

GameStop sells no new standard PS VR2 at all. The purchasable one is the GameStop Certified Refurbished headset, sku 400845, at $359.99 or $341.99 for Pro members, with a working Add to Cart, Ship to Home in 2–3 business days and real store stock. A second refurbished SKU, the Standard edition at $329.99, is marked Not Available with almost nothing behind it.

Refurbished costing more than “new” looks like a catalogue error and is not one: the $299.99 bundle is un-repriced dead inventory nobody can collect, while the refurbished units are live stock priced near market.

Where can you buy PS VR2 in the UK?

From Sony, directly. PlayStation Direct UK had the standard PlayStation VR2 and the Horizon Call of the Mountain bundle both at £399.99 with working Add to Cart buttons on 22 September 2026, plus the Charging Station at £39.99. The UK page gives the model number as CFI-ZVR1 — the same hardware that is unbuyable in the US.

StorePriceStatus
PlayStation Direct UK£399.99Headset and Horizon bundle both Add to Cart
Argos£399.99Add to trolley active, cat no. 581/3333. Real stock gated behind a postcode check
Currys£389.00“Sorry, this item is currently out of stock”
Very£399Listed. Basket state could not be read

UK high-street retail is thinner than Sony’s store makes it look. Argos is the fallback, not the equal.

ItemUSUK
PS VR2 headset$399.00, unavailable£399.99, in stock
Horizon bundlepage returns 404£399.99, in stock
PC Adapter$59.00, in stock£49.99, in stock
Charging Station$49.99, in stock£39.99, in stock

Why does the Horizon bundle cost the same as the headset?

Because the game is a download code in the box, not extra hardware, and Sony set the bundle’s recommended price identical to the standalone headset’s. On PlayStation Direct UK on 22 September 2026 both read £399.99, which makes Horizon Call of the Mountain effectively free if you want it.

Sony’s UK page is explicit: the game “requires download before it can be played”, with a “voucher code supplied within box, redeemable on PlayStation™Store”. In the US that choice no longer exists, because the bundle’s page is the one that 404s.

Has the PS VR2 price come down?

Yes, once, in 2025. Sony announced on 27 February 2025 that it was reducing the recommended retail price to $399.99 / €449.99 / £399.99 / ¥66,980, against a launch RRP of $549.99 / €599.99 / £529.99 announced on 2 November 2022. That is $150 off in the US and £130 off in the UK, and the Horizon bundle took the identical new price.

Sony’s words were “Starting in March, we’re reducing the recommended retail price (RRP) of PS VR2”, with the caveat that “the starting date of the new prices and bundle availability may vary by country/region”. No calendar day was ever given, and Sony did not use the word permanent — that is press shorthand.

Temporary discounts since then are history, not a pattern: Kotaku reported the bundle at $299 on Amazon US on 9 December 2025, and UploadVR reported on 30 July 2026 that PS Direct US had it at $300 until 10 August 2026. US stock was reported gone about five weeks later. This page does not predict where the price goes next, or whether US stock returns.

Do you need a PS5 as well?

Yes. PS VR2 is not standalone and does not work with PS4. Both PlayStation Direct pages state that a PlayStation 5 console is required. A PS5 Digital Edition is fine.

Does the PC adapter let you play your PS5 VR games on a PC?

No. The PS VR2 PC Adapter opens SteamVR titles only — it does not make your PS5 PS VR2 library playable on a PC. You also need the free PlayStation VR2 App and the SteamVR App from Steam, and a DisplayPort 1.4-compatible cable that Sony sells separately.

Sony’s own statement of the limits, from its announcement post of 3 June 2024, is blunt: “HDR, headset feedback, eye tracking, adaptive triggers, and haptic feedback (other than rumble), are not available when playing on PC.” What survives is the resolution and the optics.

FeatureOn PC
4K visuals, 2000 x 2040 per eyeYes
110-degree field of viewYes
Finger touch detectionYes
See-through viewYes
Foveated renderingYes, without eye tracking
3D AudioYes, in supported games
HDRNo
Eye trackingNo
Headset feedbackNo
Adaptive triggersNo
Haptic feedbackRumble only

The adapter released on 7 August 2024 at an RRP of $59.99 / €59.99 / £49.99, and on 22 September 2026 it was in stock almost everywhere the headset is not: PS Direct US $59.00, GameStop $59.99 new, Target $59.99 arriving Saturday 26 September 2026, Currys UK £39.99. Sony’s own UK listing at £49.99 sits in the “Also Bought” carousel on the headset page rather than on a product page of its own — the obvious standalone URLs both 404.

Sony’s minimum PC spec is Windows 10 or 11 64-bit, an Intel Core i5-7600 or Ryzen 3 3100, 8GB of RAM, a GTX 1650 or RX 5500XT/6500XT or later, a DisplayPort 1.4 output and Bluetooth 4.0 or later.

What should you actually do?

In the UK, buy it from PlayStation Direct. Headset and Horizon bundle were both £399.99 with working carts on 22 September 2026, so take the bundle unless you actively do not want the voucher. For the high street, run the Argos postcode check before travelling.

In the US, do not drive to a GameStop for the $299.99 bundle. Every store queried in six metros had zero units. If you want a headset now, the Certified Refurbished unit at $359.99 is the only US listing that added to cart. If you want new, watch PlayStation Direct US for a switch from Currently Unavailable to Add to Cart — it will happen without an announcement, so check the page yourself.

Buy the PC adapter separately, and only if SteamVR is the point. It is in stock at around $59.99 in the US and £39.99 at Currys in the UK, and it will not run a single PS5 game on your PC.

The next honest checkpoint is Black Friday on 27 November 2026. The two most recent US discounts fell in December 2025 and July–August 2026, so the holiday window is where a restock would most plausibly surface — or conspicuously fail to. Nothing here forecasts which.

For the console end of the same question, see our breakdown of whether the PS5 Pro is worth it for GTA 6 .

How we verified this

Every price and stock status on this page was read from the retailer’s own live page on Tuesday 22 September 2026, not from a search summary or a stock-tracker site. Aggregator stock checkers were deliberately not used as sources. Where a retailer’s page and its own structured data disagreed, the rendered page won.

🔴 The single most important correction on this page overturns our own first draft. The research pass recorded GameStop as the one mainstream US retailer with new stock, at $299.99. A sceptical re-check refuted it. The $299.99 item marked Condition: New is the Horizon Call of the Mountain bundle, sku 393119; GameStop’s own Stores-FindStores inventory endpoint — the one the Find a Store button calls — returned a count of zero for that sku at every store queried across six US metros at radii up to 500 miles, roughly 600 store records. Ship to Home reads Not Available, the Pick Up Today button is disabled and hidden in the DOM, and there is no working Add to Cart for the main product. The schema.org availability tag on that page says InStock; it is boilerplate, and it is contradicted by both the rendered page and the API. This is exactly the claim most likely to send a reader driving somewhere for nothing, which is why it was attacked before publication rather than after.

The inventory endpoint was validated with a positive control, so that “zero” means zero rather than “field not reported”. The same endpoint, queried with the same ZIP codes for the PS VR2 Sense Controller Charging Station, returned 111 units across 80 of 95 New York stores and 64 units across 48 of 55 Los Angeles stores, matching a buy box that offers Ship to Home in 2–3 business days and a working Add to Cart. The GameStop Certified Refurbished headset at $359.99 also returned live units and a working cart, which is why it is the one US listing this page points at.

⚠️ A method warning for anyone re-checking GameStop: raw-HTML fetches of these product pages are unreliable. The source contains hidden JavaScript template strings carrying “In stock”, “Out of stock” and “Limited Stock” simultaneously, regardless of actual state, and a raw fetch produced a false out-of-stock reading on a SKU that is genuinely buyable. Only the rendered DOM plus the inventory endpoint gave consistent answers.

Sony’s own two prices disagree with each other and both are reported as found. The PlayStation.Blog post of 27 February 2025 gives an RRP of $399.99; PlayStation Direct US displays $399.00. PS Direct US appears to round list prices down to the whole dollar — it also shows the PC Adapter at $59.00 against a $59.99 RRP — while PS Direct UK does not. Neither figure has been “corrected” into the other here.

⚠️ The word “permanent” is not Sony’s. Almost all coverage of the 2025 price change called it a permanent cut. Sony’s post says only “Starting in March, we’re reducing the recommended retail price (RRP) of PS VR2”, gives no calendar day, and adds that the start date may vary by country or region. This page uses Sony’s wording.

⚠️ Amazon could not be checked, in either country. The browser session used for verification geolocated to Taiwan, so Amazon US returned a delivery-location block and Amazon UK rendered prices in Taiwan dollars. Neither result proves anything about US or UK availability, so Amazon is absent from the tables rather than guessed at. Smyths Toys and GAME in the UK returned an empty page and a not-found respectively; B&H Photo sat behind a bot interstitial that was not bypassed; Costco, Sam’s Club, John Lewis and ShopTo were not checked at all. PlayStation Direct Canada returned Access Denied, so there is no second North American data point here and no basis for saying whether the shortage is US-specific or wider.

⚠️ Two UK listings are reported as listings, not as confirmed stock. Argos shows an active Add to trolley at £399.99, but Argos gates true availability behind a postcode check that was not run — listed and orderable is not the same as in stock near you. Very lists the headset at £399 but did not expose a readable basket state.

The production question is left open on purpose. Bloomberg reported on 18 March 2024 that Sony had paused PS VR2 production after building “well over 2 million units”. Sony never confirmed it, and no report since has said production restarted. “Production has not restarted” would be an inference from silence, so it is not stated as a finding anywhere on this page.

🔴 This page contains no prediction about the future price of PS VR2 and no prediction about whether or when US stock returns. It also carries no resale, scalper or third-party marketplace prices. Best Buy’s remaining PS VR2 listings are all Marketplace sellers asking well above Sony’s RRP, and one widely circulated $855 figure appears to be marketplace pricing rather than retail; the load-bearing fact there is the absence of a Best Buy first-party listing, not the number, so the number is not printed.